Things Jesus Never Said | Week 3

Things Jesus Never Said | Week 3

“Follow Me, and You’ll Be Trouble-Free”

John 21:22-23 (NLT)
22 “Jesus replied, “If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you? As for you, follow me.” 23 So the rumor spread among the community of believers that this disciple wouldn’t die. But that isn’t what Jesus said at all…”

John 16:33 (NIV)
“I have told you these things so that in me you may have peace. In this world, you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Jesus prepares us for…
I. TROUBLE

John 16:33 (NIV)
“…In this world, you will have trouble…”

A faith that has been TESTED is a faith that can be TRUSTED.

Romans 5:3-5 (NLT)
3 We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. 4 And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. 5 And this hope will not lead to disappointment.

Jesus promises us…
II. PEACE

John 16:33 (NIV)
“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace…”

John 16:20-21 (NIV)
20 “Very truly, I tell you, you will weep and mourn while the world rejoices. You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy. 21 A woman giving birth to a child has pain because her time has come, but when her baby is born, she forgets the anguish because of her joy that a child is born into the world.”

John 16:33 (NIV)
“…In this world, you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

John 16:1 (NIV)
“All this I have told you so that you will not fall away.”

Leave a comment